Surrey Cricket League  (EST 1975)

A+ A A-



Local radio station, Radio Jackie, agrees to broadcast League fixtures and results. They donate two new awards – for the highest score and for the best bowling figures of the year. Old Thorntonians win the top division for a record fourth consecutive season. Their captain, Sajjad Ahmed, tops the batting averages and now has a total of 11,750 League runs to his name.



Tony Hodgson, co-founder of the League, succeeds Alan Baker as President of the League. Dave Goldsmith joins the Executive Committee as Vice-Chairman. Old Thorntonians retains the Premier Division championship and received the Derek Guppy award, the only club to do so. At the end of the season Sheen Park withdraw from the League leaving Old Thorntonians the only founder member.



Old Thorntonians win their 8th top division championship but they lose to Surrey Seamers in the Twenty20 Cup final match. YRG Eagles win the Twenty20 Trophy in their first season with the League. Mark Dainty joins the Executive Committee in charge of League development and sponsorship. Ben Whyall succeeds Paul Harrison as Chairman of the Umpires Panel. Founder members Old Suttonians return to the League after an absence of 7 years. Addington 1743 are expelled during the season for discipline. John Fisher and Old Isleworthians & Heston move on to the Surrey County League and the Middlesex Championship respectively. Norwood withdraws from the League after 19 years membership. Dave Goldsmith is awarded the Derek Guppy shield for his contribution as an umpire and auditor of the League’s accounts. A 3-year agreement is signed with Kookaburra Reader to supply the cricket balls.


The League is reduced to four divisions for the season, with Division One reflecting the Premier Division consisting of 10 teams playing home and away, and identical playing conditions.


Wimbledon (formerly Morden) Corinthians become Premier Division champions at first attempt and them amalgamate with Old Tenisonians moving the first XI to the Surrey County League. Founder members Putney win Division One and also move to the County League. Sheen Park move their first and second XIs to the Middlesex Championship. Spelthorne win Division Four undefeated in their first season back in the League after an absence of 8 seasons. Abahani and Osterley 2000 both disband. John Lloyd resigned from the Executive Committee. Paul Harrison takes over as Chairman and Robin Ford as Treasurer. John declines the offer of a gift in recognition of his long service to the League and donates a cup to be awarded annually to the most sporting team during the season – to be known as the John Lloyd Sportsmanship Trophy. Raju Sivakumaran is presented the Derek Guppy award for services to the League. Ram takes over sponsorship of the League for a season.

More Articles ...

  1. 2009
  2. 2008
  3. 2007
  4. 2006

League Contacts

League Information

Login or Register